AFL academy areas confirmed

Updated: February 3, 2016
AFL News

AFL NewsALL 10 Victorian-based AFL clubs have been assigned regions as part of the introduction of talent academies across the country.

The NSW and Queensland clubs have had priority access to talent like Isaac Heeney (Sydney) and Eric Hipwood (Brisbane) for several years.

Each Victorian club will have a specific area to themselves, which some have also been given parts of the Northern Territory to develop.

They will receive money from the AFL to help with the establishment of the academies this year.

“The academies will look to build strong links between local communities, grassroots football and the elite level, to ensure our game is representative, inclusive and embraces gender and cultural diversity,” AFL Operations Manager Mark Evans said.

“For Australian Football to prosper in the future we must invest in new and emerging communities, and reinforce the pathways for indigenous Australians.

“The Academies will enable AFL clubs to be actively involved in introducing kids of all backgrounds to the game and provide aspirational pathways for coaches, umpires and administrators.”

Concessions clubs will be provided for developing talent are yet to be finalised, but is likely to following the same model is that used for Sydney, GWS Giants, Gold Coast and Brisbane.

It is important we provide clubs with an incentive to develop a presence in these communities, and help attract talented indigenous and multicultural players who would not otherwise play AFL or are underrepresented,” Mr Evans said.

“Work on the academies began more than 12 months ago and at every stage of the process clubs have been consulted to help determine the fairest and most effective structure.

“The allocation of regions has been based on a range of factors – aligning to existing U/18 talent regions, minimising player travel and access issues, aligning AFL Clubs to current or historical relationships with certain communities and balanced access to 5-18 year olds from diverse backgrounds.

“Clubs will be encouraged to work with State Bodies to utilise staff based in their specific region and take advantage of AFL programs already in place.”

Twitter: @tom_king79


Next Generation AFL Club Academies – Victorian clubs region allocation

Western Bulldogs – Western Melbourne, Wimmera, South West Victoria, Ballarat, (North Ballarat Rebels & Western Jets)

Essendon – North West Melbourne (Calder Cannons), West Arnhem (NT)

Melbourne – South East Melbourne (Dandenong Stingrays), Alice Springs (NT)

Collingwood – Central Melbourne (Oakleigh Chargers), Barkly (NT)

St Kilda – Inner Southern Melbourne (Sandringham Dragons), Frankston LGA

North Melbourne – Melbourne and Wyndham LGAs (Calder Cannons & Western Jets)

Hawthorn – Eastern/White Horse LGAs (Eastern Ranges), Gippsland (Gippsland Power), Katherine (NT)

Carlton – Northern Melbourne (Northern Knights)

Geelong – Geelong /Hampden (Geelong Falcons), East Arnhem (NT)

Richmond – Goulburn Murray, Bendigo, Sunraysia, North Central (Bendigo Pioneers & Murray Bushrangers)