Harry hopes history repeats

Updated: October 30, 2015
Harry Kol will be hoping to follow in dad Michael's footsteps in playing AFL. Picture: BRIAN BARTLETT

Harry Kol has won the Norris Harding Trophy as a Geelong Falcons best and fairest. Picture: BRIAN BARTLETT

Harry Kol has won the Norris Harding Trophy as Geelong Falcons best and fairest. Picture: BRIAN BARTLETT

COULD it be a case of history repeating itself for Harrison Kol after the talented utility was named winner of the 2015 Geelong Falcons best and fairest award?

Kol polled 67 votes to win by six from Will Sexton with highly-rated draft prospect Darcy Parish – who was runner-up in the award last season – again claiming a podium finish by finishing third on 58 votes.

Kol is the son of former Geelong wingman Michael Kol, who played 63 games for the Cats in the 1980’s and won the Gardiner Medal as the VFL reserves best and fairest in 1989.

Last year’s winner of the Norris Harding Trophy as Falcons’ best and fairest was Teia Miles, the son of former AFL player Geoff Miles, who  drafted by Hawthorn.

After finishing fifth in last year’s best and fairest, 19-year-old Kol had a consistent season with the Falcons in his third year at TAC Cup level.

He averaged just under 18 possessions, four marks and four tackles a game from his 18 appearances playing in a variety of roles.

The St Mary’s product played predominantly off half-back and through the midfield in the first half of the season and then pushed forward later in the year, kicking 12 goals from his last nine appearances.

In other awards presented on the night, Harry Kershaw was named the Most Dedicated and also received the High Performance Manager’s Award.

The Talent Manager’s Award was shared by Nick Connors and Logan Wagener, the Coaches’ Award went to Joel Bennett, the Football Manager’s Award to big man Zach Zdybel, Ben McCarthy was Most Improved, Baden Remmos Most Consistent and Brett Blair the leading goalkicker.

Defender Tom Doedee was named the Falcons’ best player in their two finals defeats.

Long-serving team manager Peter Hester received the prestigious Noel Edgerton Award while Damien McMahon and Justin Edwards were made life members of the club.

Twitter: @GreenBradley


  1. Harrison Kol (67 votes)
  2. Will Sexton (61)
  3. Darcy Parish (58)
  4. Harry Kershaw (54)
  5. Baden Remmos (51)
  6. Rhys Mathieson (50)
  7. Tom Doedee (48)
  8. Logan Wagener (34)
  9. Ben McCarthy (34)
  10. Alex Witherden (33)

Signature Homes