Tasmanian named Top Tiger

Updated: October 2, 2015

TASMANIAN recruit Matt Hanson has taken out the Bruce Montgomery Trophy as Werribee Football Club’s best and fairest for 2015.

The award caps off an outstanding debut season in the VFL for the 20-year-old midfielder, who was also named in the Team of the Year.

Hanson won the award from defender Jake Wilson while another recruit, former Brisbane Lions rookie Isaac Conway, finished third.

Ironically, the top three votegetters all finished in the Team of the Year. Hanson and Wilson have been invited to next week’s AFL Draft Combine State Screening session in Melbourne.

Hanson, recruited from Tasmanian State League club Western Storm where he won the best and fairest last season and was runner up in the league award, played every game for the Tigers and quickly established himself an integral part of their midfield group.

He proved a consistent ball winner, averaging just under 23 possessions a game with a game-high 34 disposals against Casey in Round 16. 

Hanson also showed he was just as adept in the contest, averaging five tackles a match.

In other awards presented on the night, ex-Geelong Falcon Luke Maddock claimed the Development League best and fairest from Hugh Wales with Braden Ferrari and Matthew Pickering tied for third.

Matt Munro was named best first year player, emerging young forward Josh Porter the coaches’ award, James Hussey most improved and was also chosen the players’ player for the seniors, Nathan Laracy claimed the trainers award and Doug Joiner was named the Ray Smith best clubperson.

Ben Speight received a life membership for reaching the 100-game milestone for the club, which came in its elimination final defeat, while Ashley Moloney, George Riddiford and Stan Hodson were also recognised with that honor.

Twitter: @GreenBradley

Bendigo Bank